Splatterhouse 2 Reactions

Platform: Sega Genesis
Developer: Now Production
Release: 1992

For the first time, I sat down to play through this game on my own. The last times I ever played were in the company of friends sitting on the floor around my tellie eating whatever snacks were in the house, chatting, drinking Squeezits which tasted like unfrozen Otter Pops, and beating gore outta horrible creatures. Those were good times where your only worries were school, what’s in the fridge, and what you’d be doing over the weekend.

Honestly, it has been bit of a depressing playthrough. Many of the people influential in my life back then are no longer around. Of course, I lived in an entirely different place at the time, too. So, it has been a strange time for me. I started with the intent to get through the game on one credit, but its become rather overwhelming for me alone. I don’t have the sorely missed friends and family around me to cheer me on or help me through tough bits. It really has created this gaping hole in my heart stuck on things that can’t change and wishes of having tried this back then and even having the chance to play Splatterhouse 3 with them.

I still had been enjoying my time with the game. Despite the depression and tears, it remains the fun, violent, satisfying beat-em up I remember and I’m just so happy I don’t entirely suck at it after all these years. I appreciate more things than I did back then, too, specifically the creativity behind all the enemies-especially the bosses. They’re wonderfully horrible things that still stand well today and one of the most important elements to which I grade horror games today. More importantly, it taught me something more valuable.

One vacation, I remember my friends and I discussing the game. It was during one of those countless discussions where you talk about all your favourite games and brag over the ones your friends don’t have and never played. I don’t particularly know how it happened, I just remember my friend bringing up “What if there were more than one Terror Mask?” So the discussion stuck on that for a long time. We all had crazy ideas of how that could happen and what a game like that would be. I still think my idea was the best, of course. I’m amazed I even remember it. Mine followed the idea of someone else find and picks up the mask-a girl merely because I wanted to play one in a game.

We all made our own Terror Masks, too. Mine was more like a decayed theatre mask. At least-that’s what I was going for. I wanted mine to be a girl, so it had to be creepy and femenine and I buried some pink ribbons in mud in my backyard to decorate it with. I still think mine was the best, too, of course. It wasn’t derived from a hockey mask. I don’t remember any of my friends very well, or their stories. I think one was based off a teenage mutant ninja turtle mask. I’m not sure. He would have likely still have gone with that today, so that will be what it was. He wanted gore in all of his favourite games and TMNT happened to be high ranking.

I kept my mask for quite awhile, surprisingly. It was ugly and a not bad attempt for what it was. I didn’t know what to do with it, honestly. After we did them, we all felt stupid. After all, we’re too big to be doing silly kid stuff like that, right? When my friend died, Teenage Mutant Ninja Terror Mask, I buried mine with him in a little box so no one would question what was inside or be stupid adults and not let me do it. I simply said it was something we had made together. I honestly don’t know if it’s still there. I didn’t stick around and I wasn’t there the day to see him put into the ground. I’d like to think all those people weren’t insensitve prats, so I’ll believe my wishes were respected.

Not long after that I moved. Life went on, years passed and here I am today writing my reactions from revisiting one the last things I ever did with that friend, and at the very least, having finished the game on my own. My plans were to keep trying a one credit finish, but it just doesn’t seem important anymore. I never really dealt with the loss of my friend. Moving, having to adjust to a new life, pretty much pushed him into insignificance. That’s not to say it didn’t have an effect on me. I just hadn’t realised until now. Being a girl liking decidedly boy things, I felt I had to fight harder and be tougher and I wasn’t always the nicest person because of that. You shouldn’t have to fight to make or keep friends and that’s a pretty messed up belief to have when you’re young. It’s all about being yourself and Splatterhouse 2 helped me do that. To think it all started by reading the instruction booklet at school. I actually made friends, became social, learned solidarity, and more importantly learned the value of friendship. That is a far greater accomplishment and as far as I’m concerned, this game is mastered.

Leave a Reply

