Squiddy Diaries: Tales of Xillia 1: War Looms

With my pain medication working great, I thought I’d take this moment to scream at my tablet some more and work on another post. It’s and idea I had rolling around in my brain for awhile, now, and I decided to run with it. In short, it’s a series of journals detailing my progress and thoughts about a game. I’m starting things off with this one. There will probably be spoilers.

Lately, my gaming has consisted of me focusing on one game at a time. It’s not something I’ve ever been able to do since I first got into video games as a child and couldn’t get anything new until I finished the old. That is a great way to do things, but highly unrealistic for me now. How many new games did I get last year? 400+? Yet, with my foot in the condition it’s in and my lack of mobility, despite having a vast library of PSN titles to play, I’ve been strangely sticking to this one-at-a-time ethic. The current game on the table is Tales of Xillia.

I really don’t know what has possessed me to get this game other than the $10 PS+ discount. I’ve really not been able to stand the grind in eastern RPGs for years. Ni no Kuni and legend of Mana broke this habit by reminding me of why I even liked them to begin with. I’m really funny about games; I realise this. I will condemn one game only to praise another that is just like the one I left to burn in the fires of my hatred. It’s just the way things go. I’m very much a mood gamer and sometimes I can swallow mediocrity and poor writing and look past a game’s flaws, but most-of-the-time I can’t.

Thoughts So Far

Anyway, this is day three of playing this game and I haven’t had any gripes about it. I kinda don’t like the spider-web character development buy orbs for skill, stat, and special abilities (artes). I’ve found most of them are pretty meaningless with no great affect on your character at all and could have easily been handled by your usual this-is-what-you-get-at-level-x old-school method. You have to complete sections for the web to expand, so you end up with everything anyway.

The combat system is more active in a bashy sense. You mash buttons, unleash artes, chain them together, and block when you need to. I haven’t needed to. I might change the difficulty to hard because normal is actually quite easy so far.

The setting is pretty bizarre. Technology comes from spirits and follows a more magi-tech approach, but in this case it’s spirit-tech. Everyone has a mana lobe in their brain which is used to feed spirits that will grant you the ability to basically cast magic which the world heavily relies on. It’s interesting and all elemental-based.

Voice acting isn’t terrible, but I haven’t decided if Maxwell’s is good or shit. She’s an interesting character and not human, but she sounds too much like she’s trying to be ST:TnG’s Data, or just shit.

Progress

22 hours in and it seems like a lot has happened, but at the same time, it doesn’t. I stumbled onto a horrible thing my country is doing making a weapon powered by mana, and I’m all mixed up with this task of destroying it, but of course, things are complicated. Maxwell lost the Four and couldn’t summon them. The belief is they’re trapped in that weapon and recent events have revealed the King is behind it all. Maxwell wants to assassinate him, but isn’t that par for the course? We always kill the big bad villain in the end.

I went in the Gorge to rescue the governor and found another strange facility. I’m making the trek to the top to destroy the core and save all the people being farmed for mana.

The Plan

I’m going to finish this event and hopefully rescue Governor Cline, or at least finish this segment of the event and then see about finding a Peachberry Blossom to give those wretched little girls that won’t talk to Ellie. Those bitches aren’t friend material and need their heads bashed together like coconuts.

The next order of business is getting my shops to level 30 before progressing the story any further.

I’m also working on some grade farming and knocking out titles.

My Events List aka Quest Journal

  • The Crags of Bermia Gorge – Make your way from the summit to the interior!
  • Jet Black Feathers – Give the Jet Black Feathers to the trader in Sharilton!
  • Pretty and Pink – Obtain a Peachberry Blossom!
  • The Devil’s Beasts: TBC
  • Those Who Act in Shadow: TBC
  • The Message: TBC
  • The Runaways: TBC

Shops

Item: Level 30
Weapon: Level 23
Armour: Level 22
Accessory: Level 20
Food: Level 21

Grade: 290

Titles Earned

  • Item Grabber
  • Sub-Event Starter
  • Occasional Skit Viewer
  • Treasure Finder
  • Loot Liker
  • Item Shop Patron
  • Weapon Shop Patron
  • Armor Shop Patron
  • Accessory Shop Patron
  • Food Vendor Patron
  • Monster Battler
  • Monster Slayer
  • Combo Maker
  • Liker of Links
  • Invaluable Ally
  • Soul Tapper
  • White Belt
  • Lesser Spirit
  • Greenhorn Merc
  • Remedial Channeler
  • Astute Thinker
  • Jude ❤ Milla
  • Jude ❤ Alvin
  • Research Center Intruder
  • Apex predator
  • The Fleeing Warrior

Character Progress

Jude

Level 18
AC: 5

Gear

  • Sylph Wings
  • Armet Helm
  • Chain Guard
  • Boots
  • Alternate Color (Jude)
  • Pet Dragon
  • Framed Glasses
  • Sheathed Dagger

Skills

  • Spirit
  • Assault
  • Earth Guard
  • Magic Guard
  • Combo Siphon
  • Momentary Gain
  • Cross Counter
  • Long Step
  • Combo Voltage
  • HP Gain
  • TP Gain
  • Immunity
  • TP Combo Support
  • Level Restore

Milla

Level: 18
AC: 6

Gear

  • File Blade
  • Cat Hairband
  • Hard Coat
  • Leather Cape
  • Alternate Color (Milla)
  • Pet Dragon
  • Elf Ears

Skills

  • Stamina
  • Spirit
  • Assault
  • Assault 2
  • Solid Guard
  • Magic Guard
  • Momentary Gain
  • Flash Guard
  • Aerial Voltage
  • HP Gain
  • TP Gain
  • Immunity
  • Free Shift
  • Stable Shift

Alvin

Level: 18
AC: 6

Gear

  • Solid Breaker
  • Armet Helm
  • Splint Mail
  • Leather Cape
  • Alternate Color (Alvin)
  • Aviators

Skills

  • Stamina
  • Spirit
  • Assault
  • Assault 2
  • Solid Guard
  • Magic Guard
  • Momentary Gain
  • Flash Guard
  • Blunt Force
  • Charge Plus
  • HP Gain
  • TP Gain
  • Immunity
  • Medicinal Meditation

Elize

Level: 18
AC: 6

Gear

  • Ruby Wand
  • Silver Circlet
  • Cocktail Dress
  • Seal Ward
  • Normal Attire (Elize)
  • Black Bunny Ears
  • Elf Ears
  • Hairpin

Skills

  • Stamina
  • Spirit
  • Assault
  • Assault 2
  • Solid Guard
  • Earth Guard
  • Wind Guard
  • Magic Guard
  • Flash Guard
  • HP Restoration Guard
  • Warrior
  • HP Gain
  • Immunity
  • Back Support
  • Chicken Run

Rowen

Level: 18
AC: 6

Gear

  • Estoc
  • Fine Hat
  • Feather Coat
  • Wind Cape
  • Alternate Color (Rowen)
  • Sheathed Dagger
  • Black Dog’s Tail

Skills

  • Stamina
  • Spirit
  • Assault
  • Assault 2
  • Solid Guard
  • Magic Guard
  • Momentary Gain
  • Mage Stun
  • Strong Arm
  • Knife Revenge
  • HP Gain
  • TP Gain
  • Immunity
  • Reduction
  • Conductor
Leave a Reply

