Couching Around: Xam’d: Lost Memories

So I got myself hooked on this anime really enjoying the light-hearted adventerousness of it. I remember this being some sort of exclusive on PSN or 360 or something. I can’t quite remember, but I remember seeing ads for it on one of those consoles. I found it on Crunchyroll and remembered it, so I gave it a shot. It took me a few episodes to decide if it was something I wanted to continue.

The humanforms had cool designes and I liked the setting, though I wish it was fleshed out a bit more than it was. They sorta forced a lot of stuff to fill in gaps at the end, but I would have liked it to have been a bit longer and the filled in gaps rather than pile it on to satisfy story completion at the end.

The tone change I didn’t completely like, either. I was looking for a good light-hearted adventure with dramatic moments and Xam’d delivered for quite a long time, but then it got hit by a major dose of angst and lost the light-heartedness and comedy. Don’t get me wrong, it was good and I marathoned through the last five episodes one-right-after-another; I just wanted something less intense is all. I bawled. I felt so sorry for Ishu and her loss-both of them, and the girl that loved the commander. That moment between Akiyuki’s father and the commander he had saved… man… I knew my light-hearted adventure was never coming back. And poor Midori. That entire thing was so messed up. By the end of it all I wanted everyone to be back on the postal ship like how things used to be. That nine-years-later thing really broke my heart.

Despite the fact I want to hate this show for being so mean like that, it turned out better than I expected. I never expected it to really go anywhere or have any depth. I’m used to crap and rehashings of things I’ve seen a hundred times before. While it didn’t feel ground-breaking or epic or any other adjectives equating amazing, it was a fun ride. I’d like to see another series set 1,000 years later, but that will porbably never happen.

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! *sniffles*

Leave a Reply

