The Great Purge

I honestly am not sure what has happened to me, if my being sick for weeks messed up my brain be it by germs or by drugs, but some part of myself snapped and resulted with a stupendous downgrade of my video game collection. To put it simply, I presently only own current gen systems. Yes, of all the consoles I owned since childhood, they’ve all been given new homes. No longer will I open my closet and see boxes of games, tangles of cords, and the stacks of vintage and retro consoles I had so lovingly held onto and collected. They have been passed on for others to enjoy and hoard until the end of time… … … or eBay.

Honestly, I felt nothing letting them go. I half expected, if not guilt, a few tears. They were things I liked and enjoyed during their heyday, but for countless years, they’ve just done nothing but sit neglected and forgotten in my closet and there just really didn’t seem a point to keep them if all I would ever do is drag them out to play something for ten minutes before moving on. I feel a lot happier knowing they’ve all found new homes with people who will appreciate them more than I have.

Thank you Amiga, C64, ColecoVision, PC-Engine, Vectrex, NES, SNES, Pikachu N64, Sega Genesis, Sega Master System, Sega CD, Hello Kitty Dreamcast, Gameboy Color, Gameboy Advance SP, Virtual Boy, 3DO, GameCube, Atari Lynx, Atari-2600, and lastly, thank you PlayStation 1&2. You’ve all given me fond memories and  now it’s time you make new ones in your new homes. ❤

Leave a Reply

