2016 Retrospect

Well, this year has flown past and so many big things have happened. I didn’t do a whole lot of gaming, at least in the video sense, but since being on break from school I’ve experienced a hardcore resurgence. I have Pokemon Moon to thank. I started taking my 3DS to school and it had been a great comfort in the downtime. I then renewed my PlayStation Now subscription and brought my Vita to have an even broader variety of stuff to occupy me. From that, it registered how much I miss my PS3 and so I gifted myself a white 500 GB PS3 and a handful of imports. Of course, I also took advantage of the holiday sales from GOG, Steam, PSN, and XBox.

When I look back at what I’ve played this year, mostly garbage comes to mind. I’m reminded of the batch of NES games I got to play, thanks to a friend, and it sucked–the worst nostalgia fix.

Here’s a breakdown of what I finished this year, in chronological order,  and my 2 cents worth.

King Oddball (PS4) – Addictive physics puzzler great for fueling rage.
Labyronia (PC) – Encounters weren’t balanced with your natural progression
Toonstruck (PC) – So very 90’s and I didn’t enjoy it.
Dragon Quest Heroes WTWABB (PS4) – The ending had me in tears.
Plantera (PC) – Click, Click, Click, Idle forever, Click, Click–Done
Loot Hero DX (PC) – Brainless, but not so much that I can’t call it awful
Adventures of Tom Sawyer (NES) – Terrible everything
Marble Madness (NES) – I want to like it, but it just doesn’t work.
Mario is Missing (NES) – Atrocious
Adventures of Bayou Billy (NES) – Everything was @$%^
Dino Rikki (NES) – Lazy repeated bosses and terrible jumping.
Alfred Chicken (NES) – Mega meh
Dynowarz: Destruction of Spondylus (NES) – A little above ‘meh’
The Great Waldo Search (NES) – Atrocious
Wizards and Warriors (NES) – Challenging, but an okay experience
Attack of the Killer Tomatoes (NES) – Average
Astyanax (NES) – Average
Bad Dudes (NES) – You wear diapers and fight midget gorillas. No like.
Battletoads and Double Dragon: The Ultimate Team (NES) – Tedious and difficult.
Abadox (NES) – Liked the gore aesthetic. Fun shmup.
Fist of the North Star (NES) – There are no words to describe this garbage
Dropsy (PC) – Enjoyed it a lot
Pokemon Moon (3DS) – Too much dialogue and felt hand-holdy, but super pretty

Not an impressive year for me and mostly full of disappointments, but I have a great many things to look forward to on X-Mas and a lot of PS1 classics I’ve neglected for a long time, so I’ll have plenty of entertainment to get me through next quarter.

Here’s to another year of gaming and many more. Cheers!

One thought on “2016 Retrospect

  1. I’ve a similar thing with neglected games, but for me they’re past Xmas gifts going back to 8 years ago. I plan to play them all in the next year. I may not like some of them and even not finish them all, but I’ll at least give them all a try.

Leave a comment